top of page
  • danielsendas

Safety Box

One thing Ive always dreamt of having is a safety box in my house. I've envisioned for a long time to have one that is custom made and somehow opens only to me. I still don't have the skills or expertise to build it but now I now I am taking classes such as Fabrication and Physical Computing that will one day get me there. Especially the physical computing part that could build some kind of recognition device that will open a safety just for me. Until I come up with a better plan for this (maybe for my physical computing final) I thought Id start by making just a regular safety box so I can learn how to create handmade locks and see how it works as a system. The safety box I envision would be made out of metal or some fine wood (yes, I know wood can be broken, but nothing I own is of extreme value that would justify breaking a safety box [ill probably keep my passport and some adult gummies that I purchased legally in California that I don't want my roommate to take]). Id make the inside of my box lined with suede to add an element of class. Id like to print a personal emblem on the suede and have the numbers on the locks carved via laser cut. But since this is just a prototype I will make it out of styrofoam and line the inside with recycled fabric which is way more cost effective.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page