top of page
  • danielsendas

Final Project Proposal


For my final project I very much want to prove myself after slacking for a great part of the semester. I want to work alone so I can prove to myself that I can do it. I'm a huge fan of Lord of the Rings franchise and in the movie Fellowship of the Ring, the wizard Gandalf blocks the dragon Balrog from crossing the bridge by breaking it with a spell and famously shouting "You Shall Not Pass" (In the books he says "you cannot pass"). That scene is arguably the second most famous scene and line from the trilogy (The first being Gollum addressing the ring as "my precious" ). Gandalf's line has been made into a meme and many times the meme is about "not passing" a class. This is a real topic to me as I realize physical computing and even computational media are not "my thing." However I want to finish what I started and get my degree. So I want to incorporate this fear and my love for LOTR into my final. Like the majority of students, a very real threat to my grades is procrastinating on my phone. Id like to build a model of the silvertine mountain where the Battle of the Peak took place. and have a place to put my phone on the bridge that Gandalf fought Balrog. I want it to have a proximity sensor so if I were to get my phone there would be a model of Gandalf who will scream "You Shall Not Pass!" That is the step one in the physical computing department and a realistic goal I can achieve. However I know it is quite simple so I have some other things I am aiming for. Id like a light to light up as well like the light that came from Gandalf's stick when he said that. Id also maybe like Gandalf to move. And if Im able to achieve that Id also like to make the bridge open and have my phone fall in a hole (Like Gandalf fell) in order to stop me from getting my phone. What I like about this project is that it can be done simply or more elaborately depending on how far I can go.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page