top of page
  • danielsendas

Song Sculptures

For the first week's assignment we had to select 3 songs from a playlist and build 3 sculptures inspired by these songs. The first song I chose was Love To Love You Baby by Donna Summer. This a sexy song and the sounds and noises emoted by Mrs. Summer immediately makes me think of an orgasm. In fact, at the Summer: The Donna Summer Musical on Broadway, the actress playing Donna simulates masturbation while recording this track. It's hot. The way I chose to demonstrate this is through a female body that lights up. I carved a candle and covered it with molding clay to resemble a curvy female figure. This body lights up o the steamy sound of Donna's voice singing Love To Love You Baby.





For my second sculpture I chose the song Super Freak by Rick James. The song starts with the phrase: "She's a very kinky girl." I am a big fan of kink art. This song also makes me want to dance. Therefore the visual I got in my head was to create a Kinky disco ball. I wanted this to be a provocative piece. My idea was to make a disco ball out of studs. I purchased spiky studs on amazon but the mistake I made was that I didn't calculate how many studs I would need. I ended up receiving far fewer than I had anticipated so I couldn't cover the whole disco ball with studs and had to settle for a few studs only.






For the last (and unfortunately least) sculpture I picked the song Easy by Lionel Richie. When the chorus says "That's why I'm easy, easy like Sunday Morning" I initially thought of a literal interpretation of Sunday Morning with coffee and breakfast. The melody gave me a peaceful vibe and felt very fresh. I came up with the idea of a cup of flowers. Unfortunately the execution wasn't to my standard. The mold cup I used prevented the molding clay from drying so I couldn't remove it.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page